Deep Dish Chicago Way

The Camp Of The Saints

Chicago Tribune reporter and columnist John Kass learned about The Chicago Way as a teenager.

In his latest column, he recalls a specific one of the Sunday gatherings of his large Greek family during which the discussions they would have after dinner would cover every subject under the sun:

One Sunday, I must have been 12 or 13, I decided to ask what I thought was an intelligent question that was something like this:

We talk politics every Sunday, we fight about this and that, so why aren’t you politically active outside?

Why don’t you get involved in politics?

There was an immediate silence. The older cousins looked away. The aunts and uncles stared at me in horror, as if I’d just announced I was selling heroin after school.

You could hear them breathing. No one spoke. I could feel myself blushing.

Someone quickly changed the subject to some safe…

View original post 831 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

